
Boiler Inspections: 
Frequently Asked Questions* 
*This fact sheet includes information provided by the State of South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation. 
 
 

 Am I required to have my boiler inspected? 
The Boiler Safety Act (2005 Act 59) establishes certification requirements for boiler inspectors and 
provides for boiler inspection timeframes, criteria and reporting requirements.  Beginning May 1, 2006, 
each boiler used, or proposed to be used, in South Carolina must be registered and inspected annually 
or biennially. 

 

 How often are boilers inspected? 
Inspections are required at 1-year or 2-year intervals for boilers, depending on the type and use of the 
equipment. 
  

 Who is responsible for ensuring a boiler is inspected? 
The owner or user is responsible for obtaining the required registration and inspection and maintaining 
their boilers in a safe working condition. 
 

 How do I arrange for an inspection of my boilers? 
If the boiler is covered by boiler/machinery (equipment breakdown) insurance, you may contact your 
insurance company to arrange for the services of a qualified insurance inspector.  You also may hire a 
properly credentialed private contractor on a fee-for-service basis. 

 

 How much will it cost? 
The Insurance Reserve Fund (IRF) contracts with a company that provides jurisdictional inspections as 
part of our standard coverage.  The name of the inspection service and our boiler and equipment 
reinsurer will be posted on your secure login site with the IRF.  Private contractors will charge market 
prices for inspection services.  The Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation will charge $25 for 
registration and administrative fees.  Failure to comply may result in civil fines. 
 

 Are there any exemptions to the law? 
Most commercial boilers require registration and inspection.  Certain equipment is exempt, including all 
pressure vessels, boilers on farms, heating boilers in private homes or apartment houses with less than 
six units.  Contact the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation for additional information. 

  

 Who prepares the boiler? 
The owner or user is responsible for preparing the boiler for inspection.  The owner or user may perform 
these functions or contract it to a qualified individual or firm. 

 

 What is a registration certificate? 
A registration certification is evidence that the boiler has been inspected and is registered with the 
South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.  Operation without the inspection 
certificate is a violation of law. 
 

 Where do I call if I have any questions? 
Contact the Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation at (803) 896-5171 or you can send an email 
to boilersafety@llr.sc.gov . 
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